The “Off Season”

So now that my race season is officially over I get to relax (well a little)!  I am pretty much training when I want and doing what I want.  I took a nice little break after the Chicago Marathon of doing absolulely nothing besides eating, eating, and more eating.  If I wanted something I ate it.  I needed that break from the diet I had been on since pretty much January.  But now I am back to training.  I don’t have a structured training plan, I pretty much wake up and decide if I want to swim, bike, run, or lift weights.  I have come to the realization that I cannot not train.  I get way too wound up and antsy if I am sitting around too much.  This can be good or bad.  But I am working on it.

I have done one cyclocross race which was a blast and I plan on doing some more.  I have also signed up for a few 5K running races which hurt so much but are also fun because they’re over in like 18 minutes.  But it’s 18 minutes of pure hell.

On another note, I am trying out a gluten free diet.  I am 2 days in and so far so good.  I have not found a GF bread yet and the toughest part of this diet will be finding good tasting sweets!  I am doing it just to kind of see if I can and to test my self control.  Let’s see how long it lasts.

Well that’s about all that is new with me, oh and I got a MacBook yesterday!  I needed a new computer but I decided to splurge and treat myself to a new toy.  And my bike training tool is TrainerRoad which is an amazing program!  Welp, until next time, have a good one and thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “The “Off Season”

  1. I just wish Whole Foods was a bit cheaper. But the bakery that sells GF stuff isn’t cheap either. I think trader joes has stuff too that’s not as expensive but no one close to me really.

Leave a Reply

