30 days to IM Wisconsin/July training hours

No clue what I am doing with my hand during this picture.

So I knew I had to do my monthly update on my training hours but I am sure the few people who read this probably are bored by just the hours update so I decided to add in some updates on my training for Ironman Wisconsin which is 30 days out!  The biggest change in my training has been my refocusing and goal adjusting.  I realized in July that triathlon is not the end all be all of my life and I stopped putting so much pressure on myself.  I was so caught up in the regimented schedule of Ironman training that it started to take its toll.  I began to dislike training and I was not sure if I wanted to do Ironman Wisconsin.  So my coach and I changed my schedule to a “flex” schedule which basically means I have my workouts for the week but I can decide what days I want to do them.  I really like this because I can wake up in the morning and decide what I want to do the next day, or make that decision in advance but not feel like I have to keep that schedule.  That has helped so far and I am back to enjoying the swim, bike, run training!  And it could not have come at a better time because the last few weeks and the next few weeks are HUGE for my race September 9th.

Swim start from the Wauconda Triathlon. (I am in the middle in the black swimskin.)

Well now that I have that out-of-the-way here are the training hours for July!  They should have been more but with my week “break” from training they are a little lower but still pretty good I think.  I have been very very very lucky to have stayed healthy all season but I know I have been pushing myself to the limit without overdoing it.

 

Swim Training: 34900 yards in 10 hours and 36 minutes

Bike Training: 612 miles in 31 hours and 30 minutes

Run Training: 131 miles in 17 hours and 45 minutes

I also added in 2 hours of cross training/walking

Leave a Reply

