It’s race season!

It’s spring time!  The sun is out and the temperatures are up.  Well luckily we have had sun and warmer temperatures here in the Chicago area for a while.  But just knowing it is spring is mentally nice.  April is just around the corner and for me that means it’s time to get ready to race!  It also means that REAL Ironman Texas training is starting.  I am very excited for both of those.  And…it also means I only have a month left of my semester!

Sunday will be my first “race” of the year.  I put it in quotes because it is a C race which basically means it’s a training session.  The race is the Chi-Town half marathon.  I have no idea what that race will have in store for me because I have a 5 hour 15 minute ride Saturday so I am not sure about how my legs will feel.  But that’s the point.  I am getting my body ready for 10+ hours of hard work so this will be a great time to run fast, or I hope fast, on tired legs.  I have been hoping to get my 1/2 marathon time down to low/mid 1:20’s this year, last year 1:26:xx was my fastest at 70.3 Steelhead.  But I am not sure if I will be able to get there Sunday.  I will try like hell though.  Race day plans are to wake up, most important part, assess where my body is, eat and then start thinking about the race.  I will probably go out a bit slower, 6:40-6:45 for the first few miles to see how I feel then either run like hell or keep it steady.  Luckily the weather looks like it’s going to be amazing for Sunday.  Which is good because after the race the fun isn’t over!  I still have a 45 minute bike and hour run after!  This Ironman stuff is no joke.

But the real fun starts 3 weeks from Sunday when I am racing Ironman 70.3 New Orleans.  This was a late addition to my schedule and I am super excited for it.  The race will give me a change to put all the training together and give my body a little idea what a real race is like before Ironman Texas.  I am not sure how I am going to race NOLA, whether I will work on certain aspects of the race or just go out like I usually do.  One thing I would like to do is race the swim and draft off of others.  Drafting is going to be a must in Texas because it will help save energy and help me swim faster.

But all of this is just prep for May 19th!  My first Ironman.  I cannot believe it is 49 days away.  It hasn’t hit me yet but I am sure that during my long ride tomorrow I will be thinking lots about that day.

Leave a Reply

