First snow

So I guess winter has finally arrived in the Chicago area.  We have been told to expect 3-8 inches of snow by tomorrow.  But I’ll believe it when I see it.  I like winter, kind of, and I do not mind snow but I was LOVING the 40-50 degree weather we were having.  It made training and just about everything else more fun.  I’ll take the snow as long as it does not bring on too much bitter cold weather because that cold makes everything terrible.  Obviously the nicer weather makes my training better because I can ride, and run, outside more comfortably but I am just not prepared for a real Chicago winter so hopefully it’s going to be a mild one.

So when I woke up this morning and saw it had not snowed yet I made the decision to get a quick hour ride outside before being stuck indoors on the trainer for the foreseeable future.  It was a wet and snowy ride.  The wind was blowing right into my face and the snow/ice hitting my face at that speed did not feel good.  I do not mind riding on the trainer because it makes for a better training session but when my training calls for an easy paced ride for 2 plus hours it is better to do outside.  Tomorrow I will be in the “pain cave” watching Cedar Rapids and Sherlock Holmes for that 2 plus hours.

But no matter how bad the weather gets I REFUSE to run on a treadmill.  I just cannot do it because they are just terrible.  Last year during the huge snow storm we had I ran outside, and when it was 10 degrees with 20 MPH winds I ran outside.  I just find it not that bad to run outside in the cold.  It is probably because my body keeps the heat it creates since I am only going 7-9 MPH as apposed to riding 18-25 MPH.  Well bring on the winter because riding on the trainer for hours will only make the riding at Ironman Texas that much easier!

Leave a Reply

