Ironman Training Begins!

So today is the start of my Ironman Texas training.  And today’s workout was my 30 minute run test.  It is pretty much run as fast as you can for the 30 minutes and hope you don’t pass out!  Unfortunately today decided to be the first day of real winter here in the Chicago area so I had to contend with 20-30 MPH winds and single digit temperatures during my run and that made it tough.  I ended up averaging 6:33 min/mile for the 30 minutes which isn’t too bad but not as fast as I would have liked.  The rest of this week will consist of my FTP bike test, 20 minute all out effort to measure my power output, and my 3×300 swim workout to find my pace zones.  In between those workouts I will have “choice” exercises that my coach gave me.  I am not sure what I will do for those yet but maybe a spin class, yoga or a core workout.

I have a LONG way to go before Ironman Texas but I am excited to start my training today.  137 days until Ironman Texas!  Hope everyone had a good New Years and is excited for what the year has in store.  Unfortunately I have to get back to classes next week which means it’s  back to the daily grind.

Leave a Reply

